Easter, New Beginnings and a Brand New Blog

I always thought of Easter as a new beginning.  All you have to do is look around, and you’ll see new life everywhere.

My last post was in a blog was last fall.  After taking a break to try online content writing (I actually had to pay taxes for a couple of years), I decided that I missed having a blog.  I missed expressing myself through the writing and the photography.  That it is so important for me to record my retirement.

Let me bust some myths about early retirement.  Everyone seems to want it.

But you have to get past the hype of these people who are traveling the world each day on money they have saved.  The ones who brag about the endless supply of savings that will allow them to do what they want to do until they drop dead.  The sad fact about retirement?  Many people don’t plan for it because they think they can work forever.

Early retirement wasn’t the game plan for me because I planned on retiring at 65.  I was forced to retire at 44 due to an on-the-job injury.  Imagine my disappointment.  I am a worker bee by nature, and when you take away my job, there went my life.

I have chased interests all of my life, and even in retirement, I continue.  But in order to make retirement to work for you, clean house and simplify your life.  Get your will and trust together.  Make it known to family and friends about your wishes when it comes to your death, burial and how you want your possessions distributed.

Do it now.

It doesn’t matter what age you are.  The important thing is to get rid of “stuff” that you don’t want or need.  And that includes the toxic vampires who suck up your energy and your peace of mind.  Surround yourself with what is important to you.  Focus on people you love and things that bring you joy.

For me, the chase continues.  Travel with my husband and sharing a good meal with family and friends?  It’s come down to that for me, and it’s a very simple wish. 

Retirement is only part of the journey.  Since my ego was tied to my work, it took years for me to relax and finally enjoy it.  Make sure that when you retire, have activities that you can “retire” into. 

I dare you to try and play golf 24/7!

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Randy Hall · May 30, 2013

    I like everything you said here. I got a LOL about getting rid of toxic vampires

    • Arlene Poma · May 30, 2013

      I am so glad that you took the time out of your RETIREMENT to read this! LOL! You had such an easy time retiring, but you already had a LIFE with your family and your many interests. It took me nine (count ’em, NINE) years to get my act together because my life was centered around my job and nothing else. Lucky you!!!

Leave a Reply

