5 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · March 30, 2013

    Arlene, this is beautiful. One day, I’ll show you a picture of my retirement property. The entrance to the property looks very much like your picture. In fact, I had to do a double-take. Now, you can see why I am so anxious to finish construction and go into full retirement – just to get there with all that peace and serenity.

  2. Arlene Poma · March 30, 2013

    Marlene, I can only walk through open spaces and pretend I live there! As you plan your retirement property, you should pat yourself on the back, pinch yourself, and be so proud! Very few people these days can design and build their own homes on their chosen property. I live in a 960-square-foot house from the 70s, but I tell everyone that I will live there until I die. I probably will because the taxes are ridiculously low–compared to what other homeowners tell me. Everything I need circles my house. I’m close to shopping, restaurants, colleges, hospitals, etc. I grew up in rural areas where the nearest shopping was 26 miles away. I lived on the California-Oregon border for 10 years, and had to travel two hours to Medford or Eureka for major shopping and medical care. I know Paradise. People want it, but you have to be very careful when you decide to spend the rest of your life there because it’s not for everybody. My main concern right now is being close to medical care. I know that sounds awfully dull, but I’m thinking of the future and my needs. If you own property that looks like this open space, I’m sure you find it very hard to leave. I know. Now that I am living in Sacramento, I know I am content. But at the same time, I miss living on the rugged Northern California coast with its miles and miles of unspoiled beach. I was just as at home in Montana and Wyoming. But you get the picture. I am a river rat from the Delta, so I am comfortable in country settings. My only way to any type of Paradise is to get into my truck and go. Or budget for a plane ticket. But that’s okay with me.

  3. marlenebertrand · March 30, 2013

    Being happy is number one. And, you bring up a very critical concern – being close to medical. That’s not boring. As we get older and have ailments that need attention, that’s reality. In fact, before purchasing my retirement property, the one question I wanted answered was where the nearest hospital was located. It is about 1/2 hour away. But, there are plenty of fire departments with paramedics surrounding the area. Knowing and seeing their presence weighed in heavily in the overall decision to buy. I have lofty goals of going into town once a month for groceries – growing my own food – being as self sustaining as possible. But, I am realistic, as well. If I can’t make it happen the way I envision it, then I’m going to scrap the whole plan – sell the land and be happy in my “temporary” teeny, tiny place I now call home. If this place becomes my permanent home, I will be just as happy with life. The difference between this place and my retirement property is that I’m so far out in the country right now that it might take a while for an ambulance to get here.

  4. Arlene Poma · March 31, 2013

    I hear you, Marlene! And it is very smart of you that you have Plan B to fall back on. You’re being realistic. I know people who won’t give up what they have because they’ve had it too long. Possessions. Land. Houses. Or it’s a ranch that has been in the family for generations, and there is no one in the family who is interested in farming. You have to decide what it is best for you. I know what it’s like to work the land and take care of farm animals. There is a certain peace and a feeling of satisfaction of doing an honest day’s work. But I won’t be doing that now. I know my limits. It was hard enough to lift a bale of hay back then, and I surely won’t be doing it anytime soon! Anyway, I am happy for you. Do you have room for my horse? Just kidding!

    • marlenebertrand · April 1, 2013

      I know you are just kidding about the horse. But the truth is, there is a horse trail on the property. My husband wants to get a horse when we get there, but I’m not for it, specifically for one of the things you mention – it’s a lot of hard work. We are getting older, not younger. The property is supposed to be our RETIREMENT home. My plans are to be self sustained as much as is practical. I am realistic. I don’t want to be locked to the land because we have animals and such to take care of. I do like to travel. Having animals would make that almost impossible.

Leave a Reply

