Paul’s Himalayan Musk

I am an old married lady who does not need to be waiting on some man.

But when it comes to a certain rose named Paul’s Himalayan Musk, I will wait for late April of every year for him to appear.  In fact, I will look forward to the short visit because by late May, Paul disappears until the following year.

Paul’s Himalayan Musk is a rambler.  When it does bloom, its gorgeous tiny roses of white and pale pink easily shoot high into our tree in the front yard.  For several years, we have allowed the canes to take over.  In some places, the canes have come back down and are finding ways to take over the land below.

Other than cutting out the dead and an occasional stray cane, this rambling rose needs very little pruning.  It is my favorite rose because it is a beauty that needs little gardening effort on my part.

If you have the room for any rambler, I would recommend planting one.  Most of the fun is witnessing the rose take off and find its way into a tree.  Although Paul’s Himalayan Musk is a once-bloomer, I have come to cherish each day the roses are with me.

4 comments

  1. google · August 21, 2014

    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any suggestions?

    • Arlene Poma · August 22, 2014

      Hi! Sorry I took so long to answer, but I’m taking a break from the writing. To be honest, I know squat about tech. I happen to be a professional writer-reporter-photographer-layout artist-editor from the 70s. I am a dinosaur, and very proud of it! All I want to do is write and take photographs because these two skills are only two of my many passions in life. You didn’t tell me what kind of writing that you do. If you value your writing at all, you’d better not put it on the Internet. People all over the world steal. No one is safe from hackers. If you are paranoid about losing everything, then you can just write for yourself and your family. Over the years, the world of writing has changed. If you publish on the Internet, you can bet on your work being stolen and published for someone’s gain. Also, I can tell you horror stories from other writers who have had their work stolen from Hollywood and New York publishing houses. No risk–no reward. I don’t do plugins. In fact, I push buttons and pay for it later. I don’t care. Tech makes you crazy. I am a highly-creative person, but I know where I stand in the world. Always have. Do not quit your day job and suffer for the art. In 70s, I put myself through CSU, Sacramento by staying at home and working part-time jobs through my skills in writing, photography, layout, editing, etc. To the point where I didn’t have any student loans. In fact, I made so much money that I was buying art, antiques and art pottery. I had a closet full of clothes and shoes. I even traveled. The thing is, nothing in life comes free. I am confident and secure in my life. I don’t follow trends or the crowd. Never did. I went to college because my father wanted me to. By the time I graduated from Sac State, the days of Woodward and Bernstein ruined the journalism business. I bailed. Looking back, I’m glad I did. I write for me because writing is a passion that I will never get paid enough for. I refuse to pay for copyright protection because people steal, steal, steal. I don’t even put a clause in there or threaten. Why should I? I’m retired. I am done making money because I have what I need. To get to the top of any heap these days takes a lot of work. It takes courage, strength, tenacity and all the good things in life that make good people successful at what they do. The best things I have accomplished in my life have come through the usual blood, sweat and tears. I set my goals and accomplish them. Then I establish a whole new set of goals and accomplish them again. Rinse, repeat. The competition is very stiff in the business of writing because everyone thinks they could write. They put money before the craft. They think they become writers because they are on the Internet. I just laugh because each day I get on the Internet, I need to put waders on to cut through the crap that’s there. That’s after I wade through the hype and the braggarts who actually make pennies per word. Experience and wisdom trumps all. I don’t care what other people do. If you want to cut it as a writer, you have to play the game. Basically, you need to be famous for people to want you. That’s the best way to get a book deal from a publisher. Be a celebrity and milk it for all you’ve got. You can do your blogs or your e-books or whatever. You can write for local newspapers and magazines. I am 56 years old, and I wrote my first published piece when I was six. My paragraph made it to the big kids’ newspaper. I mean, elementary school. I have been writing for 50 years. Yeah, I’m published. Yeah, I did it for a living. But when you make your passion as a way to pay for your toys, your car and your mortgage, it becomes nothing but another job. I don’t answer to money, fame and fortune. So what’s your reason for writing? You have told me nothing else about yourself other than losing everything and working hard. Everyone works hard. So they say. But getting recognized and published is even harder because everyone thinks that they can write. My advice? Read everything you can get your hands on. Write well. Then develop a style all your own. Get experience. Get criticism from readers, writers and editors. Get a job that requires skills in writing. Interview other writers. Ask editors what they want. Start out small, but aim high. Learn how to sell your ideas to an editor. Take criticism well and be gracious to those who support you. I can tell you anything else you want to know, but you gave me very little to go on. Let’s just say that I didn’t make writing my day job. I would starve to death because as a Boomer, I love my toys. Get out of your comfort zone and just write. Keep your day job until you get rich and famous because that seems the goal for most folk these days. Not me. I write because I want to write. I share my wisdom if anyone asks. I give freely. I don’t steal. Period. If people steal my work, that’s their problem. I’m not emotionally attached to my writing because I was trained as a reporter. In other words, today’s work is tomorrow’s bird cage liner. I have ideas in my head all the time because anything can inspire me. That’s why I love to talk to people and ask questions. That’s why I love to travel. You need to jump off a cliff and take chances. I’ve been doing it all my life. That’s why I am a very happy woman. If you have any other questions or need more information, just ask. Also, let me know when you get published. Good luck to you, and thanks for your comment!

  2. Read Homepage · September 13, 2014

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a
    friend who was doing a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I found it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this topic
    here on your internet site.

    • Arlene Poma · September 22, 2014

      Hey, Read Homepage! What about me??? Where’s my dinner??? LMAOx2!!! Anyway, you are a class act. Thank YOU for thanking ME. If you and your friends with benefits (dinner only) have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to email me. Send me your published work while you’re at it–okay??? Okay!!!

Leave a Reply

