4 comments

  1. Purely.. Kay · June 8, 2013

    I never had a really good green thumb, but a garden seems very rewarding. And I bet yours looks gorgeous 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · June 8, 2013

      Purely..Kay, I like to think that everyone has a green thumb. As for my garden? Since I was taking the photographs, you didn’t see all the weeds. And don’t forget the holes in the leaves. Those were left by some unknown garden predator! I come from a family of farmers, but not all of us have an interest in home gardens. Or have a knack for making things grow. Gardening is like anything else. You have to enjoy it if you’re going to invest your time and money. I found that out when I first retired and tried knitting. Ugh! When you’ve tried something, and don’t find any joy in it, you can always come back later and try it again. But only if you want to. Gardening covers a lot of interests. If I couldn’t have a vegetable garden, I would concentrate on roses. I would also like to learn more about native California vegetation. So many choices!

      • Purely.. Kay · June 12, 2013

        You’re absolutely right, I will definitely try planting again and see how it works.

  2. Arlene Poma · June 12, 2013

    Great! I hope you get a lot of pride and satisfaction in whatever you decided to grow. Since I am in “confession mode,” let me tell you a little about gardening. Everyone kills plants–they just don’t want to admit it. This is why I concentrate on plants, shrubs and trees instead of trying to raise farm animals. As Farm Girl, I know my strengths and weaknesses. You can always replace plants. No big deal. I refuse to raise farm animals because they have EYES to see you with. I won’t lead an animal (that I have raised) to slaughter. It’s not in me. So I am content to kill vegetation. If they die under my care, I can either replace them or find something else to grow. Also, there’s nothing wrong with taking a break from the gardening and returning when you’re ready. You can always work on building the soil. Or designing your outdoor space to fit your needs. Remember that a garden will always be a work-in-progress. You can always get away with unfinished outdoor business!

Leave a Reply

