Fresh Lemon Cucumber Pickles

Image

I discovered lemon cucumbers right before I retired, and I have always liked them because they are different.  At the time, I was dating Mister Jack, and he was growing the cucumbers in a small garden outside of his apartment.  Since then, lemon cucumbers have become a staple in our home garden.  When I have them, I also pack these fresh lemon cucumber pickles as part of his lunch.

Image

What’s so special about lemon cucumbers?  They will always be an oddity to me because they do resemble lemons.  Compared to the common green cucumbers that you can easily find in supermarkets, the lemon cucumbers seem “lighter” to me when it comes to taste and texture.

Lemon cucumbers are just as easy to grow as zucchini.  Make sure you keep checking your plants because lemon cucumbers, like zucchini, multiply fast.  Lift those leaves and keep looking.  The basket of lemon cucumbers pictured came from one visit to one plant.

I’m not kidding, here.  I love to brag about my garden and what it produces!  Get used to it!

The easiest and fastest way to consume your lemon cucumbers is to pick them and eat them while standing in your garden.  Although there are tiny stickers on the skin, I usually rub my fingers over them while holding the cucumber under running water.  I keep rubbing until they disappear.  If you don’t like these stickers or the thought of eating stickers, you can always peel lemon cucumbers before eating them. 

You can call it Boomer Mentality.  The thought of tiny stickers in my food doesn’t bother me. 

If you have a little time, take your lemon cucumbers to the kitchen, cut them up and make simple pickles.  Or put them in sandwiches or salads.  Lemon cucumbers are cucumbers, so they can be used in any cucumber recipe.

Image

 

Fresh Lemon Cucumber Pickles

Ingredients

lemon cucumbers, sliced

vinegar (white, apple cider, rice vinegar–whatever you have)

dash of salt (optional)

Instructions

  1. Wash and cut lemon cucumbers.  Remove stickers or peel skin.
  2. Place cucumbers in bowl and cover with vinegar.
  3. Sprinkle with salt.
  4. Serve immediately or chill until ready to serve.

Image

     

5 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · August 6, 2013

    I have never heard of lemon cucumbers. Do they have a lemony flavor, or do they just taste like a light version of cucumbers? They certainly do look like lemons.

    • Arlene Poma · August 6, 2013

      They do look like lemons, don’t they? To me, I don’t taste lemon, but I do enjoy them more than those common green cucumbers because they do seem lighter. Around Sacramento, we find them in places like WalMart, Home Depot and Lowes when these stores start selling their vegetable starts in the spring. They’re a popular item for home gardens, and they seem to sell out in a few weeks. I’ve also seen them at the farmers market. As long as the plant is in full sun and watered regularly, it won’t disappoint you. You’d be surprised how many lemon cucumbers you can harvest from just one plant.

      • marlenebertrand · August 6, 2013

        They sound great. I think I’ll look for them and give them a try. Thanks.

  2. ChgoJohn · August 6, 2013

    You’ve taught me something new here. I’ve never heard nor seen lemon cucumbers before. Now I’ll be looking for them at this Saturday’s farmers market. Thanks for clueing me in on them. 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · August 6, 2013

      I hope you have a chance to try lemon cucumbers. I love growing them in our gardens. So many uses for them. Sometime this week, I’d like to put them in a turkey wrap or a BLT. Of course, I’ll be using ripe Early Girl tomatoes if I have any available. If not, I’m hoping the Roma tomatoes out back will be ready. I always keep a bowl in the refrigerator filled with fresh lemon cucumber pickles. We never get tired of those.

Leave a Reply

