Jalapeno Cornbread Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet

Image

I already had a recipe for jalapeno cornbread, but it didn’t seem right if I baked it in an ordinary stainless steel pan or glass casserole dish.

Image

Image

Instead, I seasoned the cast iron skillet from my past and decided to use that.

As a home cook, I have experimented with all kinds of cornbread mixes. My favorite recipe comes from the back of the Albers White Corn Meal box.

 

Albers Corn Bread

Ingredients

1 cup Albers White Corn Meal

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 large egg, slightly beaten

Instructions for Jalapeno Cornbread

  1. Double the Albers recipe.
  2. Follow the instructions printed on the box.
  3. Mix 1 cup corn and 3/4 cup chopped jalapenos to the batter.
  4. Pour batter into greased, 10″x10″ cast iron skillet.
  5. Bake in a 400 degree oven for approximately 25 minutes.Image
  6. Cut into 9-12 squares before serving.  This cornbread also freezes well.

Image

 

 

8 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · August 21, 2013

    I do enjoy bits of jalapeño in my cornbread. I like finding the little bits of heat in every bite. Yours here looks like it was perfectly baked. You can’t get better than that crumb.

    • Arlene Poma · August 21, 2013

      Thank you! It’s an easy recipe, and travels well. If someone is bringing a pot of beans or soup to a potluck, I’ll bring the cornbread. Baking cornbread in a cast iron skillet seems magical to me.

  2. marlenebertrand · August 22, 2013

    Jalapeno? Say no more! I like the Albers recipe, too. My husband doesn’t like cornbread any other way. I tried other recipes and he wouldn’t eat the cornbread made with those recipes. But, then I tried the Albers recipe and now he likes cornbread when I make it that way. He also likes heat, so your recipe is really going to please his taste buds.

    • Arlene Poma · August 22, 2013

      I like cornbread with texture. Unfortunately, I’ve made or eaten a lot of cornbread that could pass as cake. I do enjoy the Albers recipe. I doubt if I’d be happy with anything else. I used to munch on fresh jalapenos. Now, I cut them into little pieces. Those were the days–when I was able to take the heat!

      • marlenebertrand · August 22, 2013

        I like texture with my cornbread, too. Something I like to do (don’t laugh) is add fresh corn to the mixture. It doesn’t change the flavor of the cornbread, but it adds a nice, hearty texture. I think I would really enjoy a jalapeno/corn combination.

      • Arlene Poma · August 22, 2013

        The supermarkets near our house sell this jalapeno bread in their bakeries. My husband likes to eat this bread for breakfast, but I’m too lazy to make it at home. Cornbread is easy.

      • marlenebertrand · August 22, 2013

        I just looked at your photos again. Is that fresh corn? Ha! I hadn’t noticed the first time.

      • Arlene Poma · August 22, 2013

        I boiled several ears of corn that day. Since we couldn’t finish all of it, I used the rest in the cornbread. I figured cooked corn wouldn’t be too hard on the teeth!

Leave a Reply

