Spiced Tomato Jam

uc davis food 002 uc davis food 007 uc davis food 013 uc davis food 012

Where has the summer gone?

After attending the UCD Master Food Preserver Program class with Mister Jack, I was determined to do some canning.  Of course, I picked the hottest day of the week to spend in my kitchen, but I am so proud of the results.

I now have nine, 4-ounce jars of spiced tomato jam to eat or give away as gifts.  The success of my project has encouraged me to shop the farmers market tomorrow for at least 10 pounds of Roma tomatoes.  I already have a recipe to try, and I plan to pick a day next week to can my own tomato sauce.

The following recipe was featured in the class, and from So Easy to Preserve.

Spiced Tomato Jam with Powdered Pectin

Ingredients

3 cups (about 2 1/4 pounds) prepared tomatoes

1 1/2 teaspoons grated lemon rind

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon canning salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

4 1/2 cups sugar

1 box powdered pectin

1/4 cup bottled lemon juice (or use citric acid–according to the instructions on the package)

Instructions

Prepare Fruit

  • wash firm, ripe tomatoes
  • scald, peel and chop tomatoes
  • cover and simmer 10 minutes, stirring constantly
  • measure 3 cups into a saucepot and add lemon rind and spices
  1. Sterilize canning jars.
  2. Place prepared fruit in saucepot.  Add lemon juice.
  3. Measure sugar and set aside.
  4. Stir powdered pectin into prepared fruit.
  5. Bring to boil over high heat, stirring constantly.
  6. At once, stir in sugar.
  7. Stir and bring to a full rolling boil that cannot be stirred down.
  8. Then boil hard for 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  9. Remove from heat.
  10. Skim off foam.  Pour jam into hot jars, leaving 1/4-inch headspace.  Wipe jar rims and adjust lids.  Process 5 minutes in a Boiling Water Bath.

Place a towel on the kitchen counter to protect jars.  Place hot jars on the towel, and do not touch or move the jars for 12 hours.

I used citric acid instead of lemon juice for this recipe.  The citric acid was measured (read the instructions printed on the package) into the jars before the jam was poured.

Serve tomato jam with cream cheese and crackers.  Goes well in meat dishes, grilled cheese sandwiches and salad dressing.

6 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · August 31, 2013

    I made tomato jam for the first time last year. It was a treat, though mine wasn’t spiced like yours. I bet yours tastes wonderful!

    • Arlene Poma · August 31, 2013

      I remember sitting in class, and the woman added ground cloves to a saucepan of simmering tomatoes. What a difference! Until recently, I didn’t know tomato jam existed. I think they would make a wonderful addition to a holiday gift basket.

      • ChgoJohn · August 31, 2013

        My thoughts exactly, though, at the rate I’m going, I’m going to need bigger baskets. 🙂

  2. Arlene Poma · September 1, 2013

    I don’t think anyone will complain about getting bigger gift baskets with all those homemade goodies!

    • Lakesha · May 15

      165Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little oraytniliig. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  3. Dortha · May 14

    And I thought I was the sensible one. Thanks for setting me stirhgat.

Leave a Reply

