Lunch with Friends

Lunch with Friends 012

When it comes to retirement, I’ve finally got it all figured:

  • I travel only if I can pay for the trip in cold, hard cash
  • I enjoy getting out and sharing a good meal with family and friends
  • I don’t spend my time buying “stuff”
  • I am donating, giving away or throwing out stuff that I don’t want or need
  • All my bills are paid by the 15th of every month

Maybe I’m not asking much, but this is why I don’t listen to the hype.  I don’t need a million dollars to stay retired.

Earlier this year, my friends introduced me to nearby Fair Oaks Village.  It’s a charming area with restaurants, shops and an old town feel.  Chickens run free.

Lunch with Friends 009

This week, we all agreed on having some Mexican food.  Who turns down Mexican food?  Not when you happen to live in California.

Lunch with Friends 008

Lunch with Friends 001

Carmelita’s is one of those places where you can enjoy a leisurely meal–complete with Mexican music in the background.  We found a table on the patio, ordered some wonderful dishes and enjoyed ourselves.  This is the place to relax with friends and play catch up.  There is no need to hurry.

Lunch with Friends 002

Lunch with Friends 005

I’m not picky.  You might say that I’m in a permanent rut because I will always order cheese enchiladas whenever I’m at a Mexican restaurant.  The waitress brought separate bowls of beans and rice.  I was told that you could have all the beans and rice you want, but I found the servings quite generous.

Lunch with Friends 010

To be a success in retirement means that you keep busy.  I am lucky to keep up with my friends.  Most of them travel, work part-time and take care of their families.  Somehow, we do find time to get together whenever our schedules mesh.

I spend a lot of my time at home, so anytime I have a chance to get out of the house and meet with friends, I’ll take it.

Since I always have my camera with me, I took photographs of the art that surrounded the restaurant’s entrance.  There was plenty of tile in and around the restaurant.  But by the time I left, I was fascinated with what a person can do with welding skills.  There were plenty of statues on display, and each one was different.  If I think about it long enough, I’ll be tempted to take a welding class at the local community college and create my own statues.

Inspiration is everywhere.

Lunch with Friends 004

6 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · September 12, 2013

    Thank you for the “stroll”. I really enjoyed reading about your luncheon and viewing all the artwork. And, now after seeing a picture of your meal, I’m going to look in my refrigerator to see if I have the makings for enchiladas tonight.

    • Arlene Poma · September 12, 2013

      Marlene, it’s either enchiladas or Monte Cristo sandwiches for me. I will always be a huge fan of enchiladas, but they need to be swimming in a rich sauce. And it doesn’t hurt when the dish comes with all-you-can-eat beans, rice and homemade tortillas. Heavenly! So are the homemade enchiladas that people bring to potlucks. Double heavenly! I believe it’s all in the sauce.

      • marlenebertrand · September 17, 2013

        Arlene, I thought you would like to laugh – I made a huge batch of enchiladas after reading your blog. I made enough to enjoy for three days. They are even better reheated!

      • Arlene Poma · September 17, 2013

        Oh, Marlene! I am so glad that you made yourself a batch of enchiladas! YUM! I can eat enchiladas all week! I’ve done that! Anyway, after your reading your post, I could not get enchiladas out of my head. So over the weekend, we went to our favorite Mexican restaurant for lunch. You KNOW I HAD to have those enchiladas–swimming in their rich sauce. Those “enchiritos” by Taco Bell were also a quick fix when I couldn’t get the real deal. Unfortunately, I found out last month that they have been discontinued. I guess they wanted to make way for their X-Treme Burritos. Sigh!

      • marlenebertrand · September 17, 2013

        I’m glad you mentioned Taco Bell. Most people laugh in my face when I tell them I like Taco Bell. They are not bad at all. In fact, when I’m traveling and need a quick bite to eat and when it has to be Mexican food, I go to Taco Bell.

  2. Arlene Poma · September 17, 2013

    We like going to Taco Bell for a quick fix, too! Maybe I should sit down and write the company that I am heartbroken about not seeing their enchirito on the menu. I do miss it.

Leave a Reply

