Potting Aloe Vera

Aloe Vera Planting 018

When my mother moved from the family home in the suburbs, I did find time to save a few plants.  The most important plants to save were two of my father’s roses.  One was too big to transplant, so I did some propagating under pressure.  After 24 tries, I finally had a living rose to remember my father.  The other rose was a miniature.  It was already in a pot, and I already had a place for it in my front yard.

I don’t know why I took home three Aloe Vera plants from my mom’s backyard.  I wasn’t attracted to them when I lived with my mom, but I noticed that they produced some interesting flowers.

Forgive me.  I have been gardening all of my life, but the one thing I very seldom do is call a plant, shrub or tree by its scientific name.  I am calling this plant an Aloe Vera–only because that’s what my mom called it.  I have not bothered to formally identify it.

So I took home three plants.  Three babies.  And I planted them at the base of a cactus.  When they multiplied, I scattered them in my front yard.  I put some in pots.

Over the years, I realized that I wasn’t interested in Aloe Vera like I was interested in roses.  In fact, I ignored those plants as they continued to multiply.  If Mister Jack watered the cactus, he was watering the Aloe Vera at the same time.  The rest of the plants only got watered with it rained.

Earlier this year, I cleared a small area in the front yard and found some Aloe Vera in the dirt.  You barely noticed they were there because weeds and other plants seemed to crowd them out.  I didn’t know what to do with the Aloe Vera, so I pulled them out of the ground and put them on my picnic table.  After several months, I moved them to a pile of dirt.  I didn’t plant them.  I didn’t water them.

Although my gardens look best in the spring, fall is the best time for gardening chores because of the mild weather.  This is the time to take stock.  For me, I have bulbs to split and plant.  After the harvest, I still need to plan my winter garden.

I finally decided to save the Aloe Vera by trimming the dead.  Then I planted each of them in a clay pot.  When I finished watering them, I found a place for them in the front yard.  They would have full sun, and I was giving them the chance to thrive.  And since they are located near my roses, they will get watered.

Sometimes, the best plants are the ones that don’t require any effort at all.  I have potted these in individual pots, and I have no doubt that they will fill out and multiply.  They require very little care, so I consider these to be the perfect gift for the beginning gardener.

Aloe Vera Planting 024

2 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · September 10, 2013

    Nice that you were able to bring 2 of your Father’s roses to your own yard. I hope they thrive for you. It’s amazing how well the aloe vera have done with so little care. I cannot wait to see what they’ll be like a year from now, having been potted and moved to more favorable spots. I bet they’ll be huge! 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · September 10, 2013

      The roses have been thriving. My father was one of those talented people who could root roses in water. The aloe vera post will need a follow-up. But only if I remember!

Leave a Reply

