Chicken Herbs de Provence

rambler 004

Chicken is a staple at our home.  I cook chicken so much that there are times when I feel that I’m going to turn into one.

There are plenty of recipes out there, so I take advantage of my retirement because I have the time to plan.  And to shop.  I have the time to experiment.  It seems the hardest thing for me to do is find something interesting to cook for dinner.

Chicken is so easy to prepare, but Chicken Herbs de Provence is even easier.  Why pay for chicken at some restaurant when you can fix this moist and flavorful dish at home in less than an hour?

A few years ago, I toured a local lavender farm with a gardening group and came home with a tin of Herbs de Provence.  I didn’t have time for the lavender wand making class, so I wanted my visit to count.  At the time, I knew nothing about cooking with lavender.  I still don’t know that much about cooking with lavender.  So far, it’s been Chicken Herbs de Provence, lavender cookies and lavender lemonade.

“What can I to do with this?” I asked the woman in the gift shop.

“I’ll give you an easy chicken recipe that’s to die for,” she replied.

In this case, a promise is a promise. 

rambler 001

Chicken Herbs de Provence

Ingredients

chicken, cut into your favorite pieces

olive oil

Herbs de Provence

Instructions

  1. Baste chicken with olive oil, then sprinkle with Herbs de Provence.
  2. Bake in a 400-degree oven for 35-45 minutes.
  3. Or grill–turning frequently.

rambler 002

I could make my own Herbs de Provence by growing and drying my own herbs.  Possibly, I can make that a goal for next year’s garden.  Until then, I can purchase Herbs de Provence at the farmers markets.

mybestcookbook.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/herbs-de-provence/

6 comments

  1. Raymund · September 30, 2013

    That chicken looks so juicy!

  2. Karen · October 1, 2013

    Herbs de Provence not only add great flavor to chicken but the aroma is wonderful.

    • Arlene Poma · October 1, 2013

      Yes! Herbs de Provence does have a wonderful aroma! And I am just tickled to find an easy chicken recipe that I will never get tired of!

  3. Pingback: Chicken Provencal » Rosslyn ReduxRosslyn Redux
    • Arlene Poma · November 11, 2013

      Thank you so much for adding my post! I will surely try your recipe for Chicken Provencal. Looks so easy. I can smell this dish as it takes over my house.

Leave a Reply

