Pruning Paul’s Himalayan Musk

317

I will always make room for roses in my garden, but Paul’s Himalayan Musk is a favorite.  It is a rambler that blooms in late April, and if I’m lucky, I’ll have blush-pink blooms until my birthday in late May.

I find this rose so special because when I first moved into my home in 2002, I wasn’t too selective about my roses.  I bought roses from big box stores and local nurseries.  I planted roses that were given to me.  I propagated.

Paul’s Himalayan Musk was purchased from a rose nursery on the Internet.  I started with a 5-inch slip that quickly took over the tree in my front yard.  That is what ramblers do.  They are meant to take over–fence, tree or house.  Nothing gets in the way of their growth.

320

I am told that you prune a rambler after it blooms.  Recently, I read in a local publication that fall was the time to prune ramblers.

When Paul’s Himalayan Musk hangs from a tree, you can guide it back into the tree.  When allowed to hang from the tree and into the yard, I don’t want to walk into its thorns.  This is a rose that likes its freedom, but you can still cut it back to suit you and your landscaping.  Then you can sit back and wait for its blooms in the spring.

rambler 005

rambler 011

315

4 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · October 3, 2013

    Gosh! This must be the largest blooming bush I have ever seen. I’m envious of the beauty that surrounds you. Wow! This is magnificent.

  2. Arlene Poma · October 3, 2013

    Thank you, Marlene! I have one climber and one rambler. If you leave them alone, they will take off and cover ground. I had to cut down my climber because it got too heavy. I ignored it for five years, and its weight brought down the picket fence out back. I don’t do anything to these roses–other than prune them back when needed. They only bloom once a year, so it gives me something to look forward to.

  3. ChgoJohn · October 5, 2013

    I love a nice rambler. They fill that section of the yard or garden with such nice blooms. I just wish more would bloom throughout Summer, though seeing the petals drop in a breeze is a pretty sight.

    • Arlene Poma · October 5, 2013

      Living in Sacramento, I’ve seen my roses bloom into December. I wish my rambler and climber would bloom all the time. I can only welcome the blooms in the spring, but they do put on a show.

Leave a Reply

