California Endive Cream Soup (with Chicken and Potatoes)

 california endive 008

What is endive?

I was introduced to endive during Farm-to-Fork Week in Sacramento.  Now, I’m a fan.

I took a sample package home, and was determined to use the endive in a dish.  According to the farmer, endive is quite versatile.  For me, using it as part of a cream soup was the easiest way to go.

california endive 005

How could anyone go wrong with endive?  It’s grown in the Sacramento River Delta town of Rio Vista–not too far from my childhood home.  Which means you don’t have to travel to its native Belgium for a sample.

California Endive Cream Soup (with Chicken and Potatoes) 

Ingredients

3 California endives, chopped

1 tablespoon minced garlic

3/4 onions, chopped

1 cup cooked chicken (shredded or chopped)

2 large potatoes, chopped

2 tablespoons butter

8 cups chicken stock

1 cup Half-and-Half

salt, pepper and Tabasco sauce to taste (optional)

california endive 006

Instructions

  1. Chop endive and onions.  Mince the garlic.  Set aside.
  2. Chop potatoes.
  3. Heat the chicken stock in a soup pot.  Add potatoes and chicken.  Simmer until potatoes soften.
  4. In a skillet, melt the butter.  Add garlic, onions and endive.  Stir and cook until onions and endive soften (about five minutes, medium heat).
  5. Add endive mixture to pot.  Stir.
  6. Run ingredients through a blender until creamy.  Return to pot.
  7. Add Half-and-Half.  Simmer soup for 10 minutes.
  8. Remove from heat.  Serve hot or cold.

Still curious about endive?  Check out their attractive website–with easy recipes geared for the home cook:

www.endive.com

 

5 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · October 7, 2013

    Big fan of endive here but never thought to use it in a soup. I bet its delicious!

    • Arlene Poma · October 7, 2013

      I was in line for my free endive, and this man was reciting an endive recipe by his nana in France. It sounded so delicious (stuffed with cheese), but I didn’t have a chance to take notes. Don’t you hate it when that happens?

      • ChgoJohn · October 7, 2013

        That’s the worst! Maybe google can help? I hope so because that does sounds like something I’d love to try.

  2. marlenebertrand · October 25, 2013

    I’ve heard of endive, but have never tried it. The recipe looks great. I have all the ingredients except for the endive. I think I’ll pick some up when I go into town. I want to try that soup.

    • Arlene Poma · October 26, 2013

      I was really pleased with the results. I am also a sucker for soup that has cream in it. I’ve never tried endive until the farmer gave me a sample package. It’s grown in Rio Vista, but I have yet to see it in the supermarket. If I see it, I’ll make that soup again. I’ve also seen recipes where you stuff endive with cheese or meat. I’m willing to try that, too.

Leave a Reply

