Fall Decorations from Northern California Wine Country

Image

Last week, I swore off computers for a week so that I could enjoy Northern California Wine Country (Napa Valley and Sonoma County) with Mister Jack.  Usually, I wander around with a writer’s journal and my camera.  This trip, I decided to wing it.  Left the journal back in the room and relied on my camera to record our activities.

Image

Image

Back home in my ‘hood, a pumpkin would not last as an outdoor decoration.  I never put out pumpkins as Halloween decorations because I know that I would find my pumpkins smashed in the street the following morning.  Unfortunately, they would be entertainment for some destructive suburban kids who didn’t know any better.

Image

During our stay, I became obsessed with pumpkins, gourds and dried corn displays.  I also enjoyed the Halloween displays since Halloween is the beginning of the holidays.  I appreciated the fact that homeowners and businesses decorated freely.  Every display remained for others to enjoy.

Image

So I took photographs of every fall decoration that caught my eye.  I can’t say that I was disappointed by the scenery.  It seems like this year has flown by.  For next year, I promised myself to purchase pumpkins, gourds and anything that reminds me of a fall harvest.  I could actually see myself carving pumpkins.  Something I used to enjoy.  It’s the perfect excuse to visit a pumpkin patch or take a drive tour of what local farms have available.

Image

Image

I would happily return next year for inspiration.

Image

Image

Image

4 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · October 22, 2013

    These photos are wonderful. I really do enjoy seeing homes decorated for Fall. It’s just not often seen here in the city. As you mentioned, the kids take delight in heaving pumpkins. I don’t know which is worse: kids smashing the pumpkins or the look on your neighbor’s face as he’s cleaning up your pumpkin from his walk.

  2. marlenebertrand · October 25, 2013

    You are a superb photographer. I enjoyed these photos. The decorations must have known that you left your writer’s journal in the room, because they all spoke beautifully for themselves.

    • Arlene Poma · October 25, 2013

      Marlene, I need to get to a pumpkin patch or an apple orchard before Halloween! Don’t you just love the “orangey” colors of fall? The beauty of the season makes it so easy to photograph. You want to get out and about. I got carried away in the Wine Country and gave my camera a workout. Now, I need to replace a cable and charger before I can take anymore photographs! Boo Hoo Hoo!!!

  3. marlenebertrand · October 25, 2013

    I think the colors of fall are my favorite. The hues are so deep. But, sorry Arlene, you’ll have to wait patiently until next year for that patch or orchard. You wore out the cable for your camera? Now, that’s some serious camera use. I hope you are able to get the camera replaced soon.

Leave a Reply

