The Liebster Award and 10 Questions Answered

Image

My blog, SheRetired (https://sheretired.wordpress.com), has been nominated for the Liebster Award.

liebsterblogaward

My many thanks to Lonnie of The Belmont Rooster (thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com).  If you aren’t familiar with the Liebster Award, here’s Lonnie’s post:  http://wp.me/p3KHR7-Qm.

Each of Lonnie’s Liebster Award nominees have 10 questions to answer.  By the time I’ve answered all his questions, you’ll learn a little about me and SheRetired.

Image

10 Questions

1)  Why did you start blogging?

I wanted to know what it was like.  This is the story of my life.  What drives me.  I want to know what something is like, so I do it.  I don’t mind jumping off cliffs.  If it doesn’t work out, I don’t see it as failure.  I try something.  If I don’t like it, I drop it.  I give myself the option to return.  No big deal.

Image

2)  What do you like most about blogging?

I am given the chance to express myself.  I have the attention span of a gnat.  SheRetired allows me to focus on a subject.  Write about it.  Photograph it.  I retired early (2002).  I am 55, and I have decided that this blog is an important part of my retirement.  I take my writer’s journal and my camera everywhere.  Not everything is recorded in my blog, but taking notes and photographs are a reminder of what I used to do.  There’s still a lot of Lois Lane in me.  I’m not going to waste it.

3)  What inspires you to continue blogging?

I blog because it’s a passion.  You take a risk when you put yourself out there because you are revealing something about yourself.  I know what it’s like to be passionate about something.  It’s like what I discovered when I worked around horses.  Horses are a passion of mine.  Being around them?  For the chance, I’d do the grunt work for free.  I’ve been writing all of my life.  The photography came a little later.  I know what it’s like to get paid for these skills.  Sure, money is nice.  But now, I write for myself.  I like the freedom.  When there’s no money involved, I’ve found that I write all I want because I want to do it.

Image

4)  What is your favorite time of year?

The fall.  The falls means a second chance to me.  You harvest what you sow.  Another beginning.

Image

5)  What do you look for when deciding to follow a blog?

At first, I’m looking for an easy read.  I don’t want to deal with a lot of sloppy mistakes when it comes to spelling, punctuation, grammar, etc.  Where I want to whip out the red pen and make corrections.  As a reader, don’t make me work that hard.  I know that sounds picky, but that’s me.  I graduated with an English degree.  At this late date, I guess I’m going to use it for something.  Blogs are pure entertainment for me.  I read them so that I can relax at the end of the day.  I want a piece that shows me how to make my life better.  Show me how to do things.  Take me somewhere.  Answer a problem.  Give me hope.

Image

6)  When deciding to start a blog, what made you choose WordPress?

Blogspot was my first choice because I didn’t know that I had other choices.  About a year into this blog, I got this email from Google.  I believe it was all about more ads, their upgrades and making them money.  The nerve!  So, I left.  My writing certainly does not encourage people to click on ads or buy things.  I wanted to see what it was like to have a blog without ads.  I was done chasing the pennies, and I’ve stuck to that.

7)  How important is it to you for other bloggers to make comments and “LIKE” your blog?

As a writer, you always want feedback.  Comments and LIKES are valuable to me.  Sometimes, you’ll be sitting at the computer, and you’ll ask yourself, “Who’s reading this, anyway?”  I would like to know how I’m doing.  Not everything you write will be of interest to people, but it’s nice to get feedback.

Image

8)  How important is it to you to gain more followers?

Having a lot of followers would certainly feed my ego.  I have a few followers that leave comments.  Then I leave them comments.  They are familiar faces.  They are important to me.  Most people who follow me?  They don’t leave comments or LIKES.  I don’t know what they are thinking.

Image

9)  What do you hope other bloggers gain from your blog?

That you don’t need a million to retire.  To be happy isn’t based on money.  Next year, I’ll be in my 12th year of retirement.  It took me 9 years to realize that I wasn’t going back to work.  Yes, it was that hard.  Now, I wake up, and the day is mine.  My husband is 11 years younger than me, so he still works.  I spend a lot of hours by myself.  Our dog sees me more than most people.  But I find things to do–to amuse myself.  It’s not that I am blowing $3,000 on traveling or hobbies.  Some people can do that, but not me.  I used to work.  Now, I’m a housewife.  I struggle at it, but I’m making progress.  I’ve avoided being a housewife all my life.  Now, I’m finally learning to keep house.  It’s an adventure in itself.  I mean, the hardest thing I do is try to figure out what to cook for dinner.  In retirement, you can’t compare yourself to others because we’re all different.  You have to make retirement work for you.  Make it your own–like you do a recipe.  I meet family and friends for lunch or dinner.  All my bills are paid by the 15th of the month.  I am no longer a consumer.  Instead, I donate or throw out what I don’t want or need.  Yes, my life is that simple, and I like it that way.

Image

10)  Thank goodness this is the last one!  Do you think these questions are dumb?

Not at all!  Yay!  Thanks for nominating me, Lonnie.  And thank you for being a loyal follower.

Image

4 comments

  1. The Belmont Rooster · November 13, 2013

    AWESOME! FANTASTIC! I love your answers and I really liked the photos with the post! A great award for a great lady and her blog! Now, on to the next step…

    • Arlene Poma · November 13, 2013

      Thank you, Lonnie! Yes–to the next step. I need to read your post again to make sure I’m getting this right.

  2. ChgoJohn · November 18, 2013

    Congratulations, Arlene, for receiving this award. It surely won’t be the last to come your way.

    • Arlene Poma · November 18, 2013

      Thank you so much, John! The Liebster Award was a complete surprise. The week before I got word, I had erased all the photographs to 100+ posts. I admit I took the scenic route. I now know how to do photo galleries, but I still have quite a few photographs to select and replace. LOL!

Leave a Reply

