Lard Drop Biscuits

Image

During the week, Mister Jack works long hours.  On Saturday or Sunday mornings, we used to go out for breakfast, but that habit got old when we finally figured out that $9 chicken fried steak meals became a drain on our wallets.  Now, I do make the effort to prepare more meals at home.  This includes breakfast for those lazy weekend mornings. Lately, I’ve been experimenting with lard, and I could not resist trying a lard biscuit recipe.

I used to spend a lot of time in the kitchen when I first retired, but now, I like to take shortcuts whenever I cook or bake.  I wanted to make biscuits, but the recipe called for the usual.  Using a fork, you mixed the lard and the flour until you got the rough texture.  Then came kneading and rolling out the dough.  Who has time for that?  I certainly don’t.

I used my KitchenAid mixer to mix the lard and flour into biscuit dough.  To save on more time, I did not knead and roll out the biscuit dough.  Instead, I plopped heaping teaspoons of dough into a greased muffin pan before baking.  It was that quick and easy.

For cheese biscuits, add one cup of shredded cheese to the batter.

Lard Drop Biscuits 

(Adapted from Grandma’s Homemade Biscuits by Sue Ade, Bluffton Today)

Ingredients 

1/3 cup refrigerated lard, plus 1 tablespoon lard and coarsely chopped

2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour

3 teaspoons double-acting baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease muffin tin with lard.Image
  2. Place flour, baking powder and salt in mixing bowl.  Add lard.Image
  3. Put mixer on a low setting and mix flour, baking powder, salt, and lard until this mixture turns into dough.ImageImage
  4. Place a heaping teaspoon of biscuit dough in the greased muffin tin for each biscuit.  There is enough dough for 12 biscuits.Image
  5. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

Serve hot.  Best with butter or jelly and jam.  Place leftover biscuits in sealed bags or containers. ImageImage

http://www.blufftontoday.com/bluffton-news/2012-04-18/lard-pure-and-simple/

2 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · November 24, 2013

    Those last 2 pictures say it all, Arlene. These biscuits look delicious! I’ve been on a mission of late, trying to find “good” lard. Everything is hydrogenated around here. The thing is, I know I saw it somewhere in a freezer display but cannot remember where. If I had a memory, I’d be dangerous! 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · November 25, 2013

      John, I am also searching for the “real” lard. I may have to find that pig farmer in Sonoma County if I can’t find the local stuff. It shouldn’t be too hard. I will also be looking for lard in the freezer section (if I remember). LOL!

Leave a Reply

