Wild Bird Winter Care

Image

Image

Image

There is nothing like waking up to the sound of singing birds.

My goal is to turn my suburban lot into a sanctuary for wild birds.  So far, so good.  I’m almost there.  I can watch hummingbirds from my living room window.  Birds build nests in my rose bushes.  At any given time, I can watch sparrows, blue jays, doves, and robins.  It all depends on the season.

Image

All year, the hummingbird feeders are always kept filled.  I provide clean water for drinking and bathing.  In the winter months, seeds fill the front feeder.  Many of it spills to the ground for the blue jays and sparrows.  In the spring, if the seeds aren’t eaten or swept away, I’ll have a mystery crop of new seedlings.

My efforts are well worth it.  I provide food and water, and my feathered friends find sanctuary in my yards.  In return, I can hear them singing.  And I can watch them from my windows.

The World Buffet 023the frost 012The World Buffet 024

4 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · December 11, 2013

    In our climate, feeding birds is essential for many of them. Those that stick around over Winter need all the help they can get. Sometime in early October, we take down the hummingbird feeders to encourage them to head South. We’ve had snowy Halloweens and I doubt any of them could survive it. Next year, I’ll ask them to say hi to you when they get to your place. 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · December 11, 2013

      We were told that some hummingbirds hang out in Sacramento during the winter. And some have a winter destination. So we always keep the feeders clean and leave the sugar water for them. Luckily, it doesn’t freeze. I enjoy the show as they feed. Each bird has different markings in brilliant greens and reds. I also like the hear the sound of them buzzing around.

  2. 有機 · July 6, 2014

    I feel this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However wanna observation on some normal
    issues, The web site taste is great, the articles is in point
    of fact nice : D. Excellent process, cheers

    • Arlene Poma · July 6, 2014

      Thank you so much for your comment! What are your ideas on “normal” issues? As a blogger, I’m basically an unemployed journalist and photographer with experience dating back to the 70s. I don’t write hard news. My background is in features. Personally, I take risks and do things for the experience. I like being around real people and finding out what makes them tick. That’s what I enjoy most about my travels. Thanks, again.

Leave a Reply

