The End of the Hard Freeze

Image

For the past week, temperatures in Sacramento dipped down to the 20s.  Most gardeners anxiously waited on the weather reports.  At the same time, we covered our more fragile plants, shrubs and trees.  I threw a sheet over my lemon tree, and it looked like some ghost had taken over my front yard.  There are plenty of ghosts seen in the neighborhood when the frost hits.

Image

About two days ago, it was announced that the hard freeze was over.  And temperatures would return to the 60s.

I don’t like sudden changes in the weather.  I had thrown several plants into our greenhouse to save them from the frost, and covered the ones that were too big to move.

Image

Of course, I had casualties.  Luckily, I don’t have an emotional attachment to my plants.  If they die–they die.  What I look for are “bulletproof” plants that don’t need to be babied.  Which is why I will always make room for roses.  Image

It’s hard to say if a plant will survive a sudden hit of the frost.

Image

Image

Image

If these plants don’t die from exposure to the hard freeze, it may take a few months for them to recover.  After the last hard freeze, I pruned a lot of the dead.  Then I cared for these plants as usual.  With constant care, most of them came back to life.

Image

4 comments

  1. The Belmont Rooster · December 13, 2013

    Great post! Pretty cold for Sacramento… Does it usually frost there in the “W”?

    • Arlene Poma · December 13, 2013

      Usually January. But maybe I’m in denial because I don’t like surprises when it comes to a sudden frost. California needs rain. And snow in the Sierras. Otherwise, we’re in for drought.

  2. ChgoJohn · December 14, 2013

    I thought I’d read a couple posts before heading out to the snow blower. I probably should have saved this one for later. 🙂
    I do hope you didn’t lose many plants, though. Sounds like your Winter, like ours, is going to be a long one.

    • Arlene Poma · December 14, 2013

      In the fall, the oak trees dumped so many acorns–to the point where the squirrels probably got so sick of looking at them. It was ridiculous. This has not happened in years, but I agree with you. We’re in for a loooooong winter.

Leave a Reply

