Setting and Achieving Goals without New Year’s Resolutions

DSCN5887

I am blessed to be surrounded by many talented and highly-creative people who have made my retirement such a joy.  I am so grateful for all of you because you enhance my life.  Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.  Be safe, happy and healthy in 2014.

    

When it comes to setting and achieving goals, New Year’s resolutions and good intentions aren’t enough.  Don’t waste your time making New Year’s resolutions because they are worthless.  Most people make resolutions, and right into the New Year, they break them.  Most likely, these resolutions will not come up again until the following New Year.  You have a year to completely forget about them.

Good Intentions for Health and Fitness

Every January, I see the same patterns as I walk my dog at a local park.  People with ten or more pounds to lose show up in new sweats and expensive running shoes.  They do make an effort to slowly jog from here to there.  After that first day of running, I will never see them again.

Forget the High Expectations

For decades, I would vow to eat right.  I’d have a couple of healthy meals, then hours later, I’d slide right back to the fast food, cheesecake and fried chicken. 

After years of being addicted to food and not making an effort at lifelong healthy eating, why kid yourself?  Bad habits do not change overnight.  To break them, you’ll need as much as two months of doing the right thing.  But of course, we always want instant results while using the least amount of effort.

Getting Started

How bad do you want to achieve your goals?  Here are four easy ways to start:

  • Choose a goal that is reachable.  Don’t set yourself up for disappointment. 
  • Write down your goal on an index card and post it where you can see it each day.  I post mine on my bathroom mirror and on the dashboard of my truck.
  • Talk about your goal.  Always be positive on the subject. This will keep it alive and in your thoughts.
  • Be specific.  So many times, I hear people say that they will be “a good person” in 2014.  That is so vague as well as meaningless.  Define being a good person.  Will you spend more time with your family?  Donate to a charity?  Volunteer?  You need to give your goals structure. 

Don’t Even Think About Failure

Failure is when you don’t even try to achieve your goals. 

You will have some setbacks, but don’t worry.  Immediately get back on schedule.  Don’t think of a goal as something you do out of great sacrifice.  Do what you need to do, and forget about beating yourself up.

When Achieving Goals Become Habit 

Small goal, big goals.  Once you get in the habit of achieving your goals, this process will become automatic.

 

 

4 comments

  1. Karen · January 5, 2014

    A very good post to start the year with….wishing you all the best.

    • Arlene Poma · January 6, 2014

      Happy New Year, Karen! I am so glad that I found your blog. Thank you for sharing your travels!

      • Karen · January 6, 2014

        That is so kind, I appreciate your nice compliment.

      • Lola · May 15

        Stopping in from God Bumps today and am so glad I did. This post is a &qohu;toly echo" for me– just confirms the same message I'm getting from God these days. Stop waiting for perfect! THANK YOU for these rich words.

Leave a Reply

