Crisp Oatmeal Cookies for a Rainy Day

Image

Gray skies.  Some rain.  On days like this, I love staying inside because  I am motivated to cook and bake for hours and hours.  I have not baked cookies in a long time, so I decided to get back to basics and leave my KitchenAid mixer on the shelf.  I decided to use some muscle, plus my mom’s old mixing bowl and measuring spoons from the 60s.  There are times when you freely walk down Memory Lane, and I have a lot of memories–cooking with my mom.  

I am a huge fan of COSTCO, but I made a mistake of buying one of their big boxes of Quaker Oatmeal. This box contains two bags of oatmeal, which equals 110+ servings.  I was on some health food kick when I bought it.  Truth?  I would rather have chicken wings for breakfast.  Mister Jack doesn’t have enough time for oatmeal since he is always rushing off to work–long before dawn.

What was I thinking?  There are only two of us.  We are not the Walton family.

So I decided to make oatmeal cookies and put a very small dent in that box of oatmeal.  I am one recipe-collecting fool, so I certainly don’t have a shortage recipes.

Image 

If I am not making copies of recipes on my tired printer, I’m looking through newspapers and magazines.  I watch a lot of cooking shows on TV, and I admit that I channel surf for those.  My Nook is filled with food magazines, but I have less that a dozen cookbooks.  When out and about, I will ask for recipes.  What I want is constant inspiration.  And for me, it’s always about the chase.

Here’s an old recipe from my files.  I don’t know its source, but I figured it must be good because someone took the time to put it on an index card and file it in an old recipe book.  Of course, I made some changes to make it mine.

Crisp Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon water

1 tablespoon vanilla

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cup Quaker Oats (or whatever brand you have)

1/2 cup nuts (your choice), chopped or ground fine

Instructions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease one or more cookie sheets. 

2.  In a mixing bowl, cream shortening and sugar. 

Image

3.  Add egg and water.  Mix well.

Image Image

4.  Add vanilla, flour, soda, and salt.

5.  Add oats and nuts.  Mix well.

Image

6.  Drop six individual heaping tablespoons of mixture onto a greased cookie sheet.

Image

7.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Image

8.  The oatmeal cookies will be slightly soft.  Carefully remove them from the cookie sheet with a spatula, then place on a rack to cool.

Image

9.  Serve.  Or freeze for up to six months.  Makes about 3 dozen cookies.   

 

4 comments

  1. sophiebowns · March 5, 2014

    How lovely! 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · March 5, 2014

      Thank you, Sophie! As long as California gets rain, I will celebrate. We need all the rain and snow that we can get because the drought is far from over.

  2. marlenebertrand · March 5, 2014

    These cookies are beautiful. My favorite type of cookies is oatmeal. I use to eat them a lot. But, not the soft kind – the crisp kind, like your recipe. It’s been years since I’ve tasted oatmeal in any form. Oh, I know what you mean about the Costco size box of Quaker Oatmeal. It’s just my husband and me now that we’re retired empty nesters. A box of Oatmeal would last quite a few years.

    • Arlene Poma · March 5, 2014

      Marlene, thank you! My post-kidney transplant diet requires more phosphorus, and oatmeal is one of the grains on the list. Of course, I had good intentions when it came to oatmeal, but YECHHH! I don’t like oatmeal for breakfast unless it’s smothered in brown sugar and cinnamon. Or maybe with a lot of fruit to kill its blandness. I love crisp cookies, so in order to finish this huge box of oatmeal, I will need to bake all kinds of crisp oatmeal cookies. Hey, no problema! I have quite a collection of recipes, and my collection continues to grow and grow. Maybe I can test every oatmeal cookie recipe that I find. And gain 400 pounds while I’m at it!

Leave a Reply

