Corned Beef and Cabbage in a Crock-Pot

Image

Every March, I cook corned beef and cabbage for Mister Jack’s birthday and St. Patrick’s Day.  This year, I tried cooking corned beef and cabbage in a Crock-Pot.  Mister Jack works long hours, so instead of keeping the corned beef and cabbage on the stove for hours, I put it in a Crock-Pot.  This was much easier because I didn’t have to stand over a pot on the stove for hours.

There’s only the two of us, but the only Crock-Pot at our home is family-size.  That’s okay because we welcome leftover corned beef that can be made into hash or sandwiches.  I usually don’t measure anything when I cook corned beef and cabbage because I have not had any disasters.  It’s a very easy dish to make.

Corned Beef and Cabbage in a Crockpot

Ingredients

Package of corned beef with spice packet included

3-4 potatoes

1 cup carrots

4 ribs celery

1 medium green cabbage, quartered

Instructions

1.  Place corned beef in a crockpot.  Cover with water and add spices.

Image 

2.  Chop potatoes, carrots and celery–like preparing the vegetables for a stew.  Cut cabbage into four pieces.  Cover vegetables with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator until ready to use.

Image

Image

3.  Select LOW on crockpot and leave it on overnight.

4.  The next morning, check the corned beef by sticking it with a fork.  It’s a tough piece of meat, so it may not be tender.

Image

5.  Add vegetables to crockpot.  Cover and resume cooking.

Image

6.  The corned beef and cabbage is ready when the meat and vegetables are tender.  This may take a couple of hours or more.

7.   When the meat is tender, and the vegetables are fully cooked, keep this dish on WARM until you are ready to serve. 

Image

 

 

8 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · March 11, 2014

    Oh, I wish I had seen this a couple of days ago. I made it from memory and forgot to include the potatoes. It was still quite tasty and I’m having a bowl for lunch today. The next time I make this I’ll be sure to remember the potatoes. How could I have forgotten the one ingredient that makes this dish so traditional? Oh well, we live and learn. Your crockpot version looks beautiful and delicious.

  2. Arlene Poma · March 11, 2014

    Marlene, I cook with what I have around the house. Reading your comment, I now realize that I didn’t add any onions to this dish because I didn’t have any at the time. Oh, well. I still don’t have any onions because I didn’t make it to the farmers market this weekend, and I am too lazy to go grocery shopping for only a few items. I do love staying at home because it forces me to cook our meals instead of going out. It does make a big difference when you aren’t going out to eat at least twice a week. I am a recipe addict, so all I need to do is select the recipes, plan menus and shop for the ingredients. Not only am I banned from gardening for six months–I’m banned from restaurants. Unfortunately, I have to keep very busy during the day because it’s so tempting to plop myself down in front of the television and mindlessly eat. Bad, bad, bad!!! Luckily, not a lot of good stuff on TV during the day, but I also record my favorite cooking shows to go with the travel shows. All in the name of cheap entertainment!

  3. marlenebertrand · March 11, 2014

    (smiling) We call it cheap entertainment, but the travel channel and cooking channels are pretty much the only things I watch during the day. Well, I take that back. I do watch Young and Restless and Bold and Beautiful. I don’t actually sit in front of the TV to watch them. Mostly, I just have the shows on while I clean or do some other chore. It’s so hard for me to sit. About the only thing I can sit for long periods of time doing is write. But, I haven’t even been doing a lot of that these days. I think I’m burned out from writing. I don’t like the sound of that, but I think it’s true. Or, it could be more like the retirement bug has hit me hard and now all I want to do is stuff retired people do… like reading recipes and cooking them up. Yesterday, a neighbor gave me an acorn squash and what was really nice is that she gave me the squash with a delicious recipe to boot. We both like to talk recipe. When we find one we really like, we share them. It’s fun. Oh, travel and cooking channels by day… DIY shows at night. I like watching those shows and House Hunters International. I follow The Voice on the nights the show airs. Then, send me off to bed after The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. That man makes me laugh as much as DavidB.

    • Arlene Poma · March 11, 2014

      Need noise when I write, and television is good for background noise. “The Young and the Restless” is a longtime habit for us. We record it and watch it together. Totally predictable, but both of us have been watching it since childhood. I remember when Nikki Newman worked as a stripper with some guy named Cash. A long, long time ago.

  4. ChgoJohn · March 11, 2014

    I was just looking at corned beef briskets, Arlene, with pretty much this same meal in mind. I love a good boiled dinner and the sandwiches that are sure to follow. I bet you enjoyed this meal. I know I would. 🙂

    • Arlene Poma · March 11, 2014

      John, I make corned beef and cabbage at least twice in the month of March. We celebrate my husband’s birthday as well as St. Patrick’s Day. Leftovers (sandwiches and hash) are as just as delicious and easy to make. If we don’t burn out, I may make corned beef and cabbage again at the end of the month since we celebrate the anniversary of our first date. Always looking for that excuse to celebrate, and corned beef and cabbage is THE dish for March!

  5. google api console · June 12, 2014

    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would enjoy your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    • Arlene Poma · June 17, 2014

      Hi, Oliver. I’m sorry that I took so long to get back to you, but I was celebrating my 56th birthday all of last month, and now, I must settle down and face the fact that I need to get back to my writing. I am sooooooo flattered that you asked me about ebooks or guest authoring. The problem is that I am a professional writer, journalist and photographer from waaaaaaaay back. I am not tech savvy, and I learn as I go. I am retired partly through my writing. And mostly through my work with the California Department of Corrections during the 90s. I love to write. It has been my major passion since I could hold a pencil and scrawl. Photography comes in second. I don’t care about making money because I am retired. I have a pension, and if I behave myself, I won’t have to find work. As far as I am concerned, I am content with my life. All I want to do is write and illustrate my work with my photographs. I have done guest authoring. I would be happy to guest author on any topic. I am a highly-creative individual, but for once, I am not doing anything for the money since I’ve worked since I was a child. My blog is for my entertainment. I don’t bow to the Google gods. I am recording my retirement, and I love sharing and commenting on the work that other “real” writers do. Good writing is hard to find on the Internet because everyone and his mother thinks they can write. Not so. Lots of garbage on the Internet, and it is beneath me to sell, sell, sell when I am at the point in my life when I don’t wanna buy, buy, buy. I am very picky about where I place my work because I will not have my name on any Dog and Pony Show. Period. But don’t worry about hurting my feelings. I prefer total honesty. What I don’t understand is why you don’t have a photograph or a logo to replace that faceless image. And I am not sure what the name of your blog is. Anyway, feel free to email me @ sheretired@gmail.com and state your case. My radar is on. I think you are a bit hesitant to approach me. But feel free to contact me personally. The ball is in your court. I don’t have any guest writers or ads on my blog because it’s all about me. I will always come first. Anything else is a distraction because I want the focus on my work. Maybe this will all change in the near future, but I have not decided a thing. I haven’t put a deadline on that decision. Thanks again for your comments and your offer.

Leave a Reply

