How to Fall in Love with Daffodils and Tulips

Image

Each spring, a friend of mine reminds me to visit the Ironstone Vineyards in Murphys, California.  She mentioned daffodils growing everywhere, so I thought about the vineyard grounds being covered with them.

This year, I finally asked Mister Jack for a day with the daffodils.  I picked the Sunday before St. Patrick’s Day, and it was a very wise choice because the Northern California Daffodil Convention was taking place that same weekend.  The convention, the Nineteenth Mother Lode Show, is sponsored by the Northern California Daffodil Society and Calaveras Garden Club.  Each year, Ironstone Vineyards hosts this event.   

The lovely drive (mostly country roads for this farm girl) from Sacramento to the historic Gold Rush town in Calaveras County took less than three hours, and it had to be one of the easiest ways for us to escape from the daily demands of our urban life.  As we approached the vineyards, we saw millions of naturalized daffodils in bloom.  Ironstone Vineyards is also a designated American Daffodil Display Garden. 

Image

To my surprise, there were daffodils and tulips everywhere.  They were planted in the ground as part of the landscape.  And for the convention, the flowering bulbs were planted in wine barrels.  Each barrel is carefully labeled to identify the daffodils or tulips, so jotting down your favorite blooms becomes a helpful reminder when it comes to placing your order in the coming months.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

I was so delighted with my surroundings.  All these beautiful flowers on a bright California spring day, and all I needed to do was get my camera out and take photographs.  I noticed that a lot of people felt the same way.  If they weren’t snapping away or taking their time shooting close-ups of the flowers, they were posing their children and other family members in front of the gorgeous blooms.

Although my gardening focus is on roses, this event has inspired me to plant daffodils and tulips around my home this coming fall.  These photographs are only a few of the flowers on display that instantly caught my eye.  There were so many daffodils and tulips to admire and photograph, but I didn’t get around to appreciating all of them.  I would have loved to take most of them home with me.  If you ever attend one of these shows, make plans to spend the whole day surrounded by their beauty.

The Northern California Daffodil Society website has a schedule of its meetings, shows and conventions.  It also contains facts about daffodils and helpful gardening tips for naturalizing daffodils or planting them in your garden and in pots.  If you want to order bulbs, there is a contact list for daffodil growers.  If you plan to visit Murphys next March, check the Ironstone Vineyards’ website for the convention.   

www.daffodil.org/

www.ironstonevineyards.com 

The Daffodils

Image

 Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  The Tulips

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

  Image

       

4 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · March 19, 2014

    I, too, love daffs and tulips, Arlene. My front yard has a nice assortment of both but, this year, I’ve got my doubts about how many will appear and when. Much of that bed is still snow covered and some of those bulbs have usually bloomed by now. It will be an interesting season.

    • Arlene Poma · March 20, 2014

      John, you never know with this crazy weather. As far as the gardening goes this year, the drought here in California and doctor’s orders are keeping me from dealing with dirt for the next few months. I am in agony because this is the time to plant and watch things grow. I like getting my hands dirty. Hopefully, I’ll be able to plant daffodils and tulips in the fall. I love the look of these flowers in the spring. Always will.

  2. marlenebertrand · March 19, 2014

    So gorgeous! I enjoyed the photos. They are all so beautiful. I couldn’t identify my favorite daffodil; I liked them all. But I think my favorite tulip is the lilac colored one. If I read the label correctly it is referred to as “Passionate”.

    • Arlene Poma · March 20, 2014

      Marlene, I grew a few daffodils, iris and tulips when I first moved into my home. Considering this drought, I think growing these beauties in wine barrels would do it for me. My front yard has changed over the years, and is now mostly in shade. So with the barrels, I can move the bulbs to the places that has sun for at least six hours each day. I could naturalize them out back, but I believe these lovely blooms should get attention in the front yard. My favorite color is red, but the Passionate tulips caught my eye right away. So many bulbs, but so little time! That ought to teach me about going to garden shows and home shows!

Leave a Reply

