Standing Water

Image

Last week, it was tank tops, shorts, flip flops, and sunblock.  This week, there was snow in the Sierras and some scattered thunderstorms, rain and a little hail in Northern California.  Hopefully, most Californians are saving water because this drought is far from over.   

Sacramento got about 1.30 inches of rain from the recent storm on Tuesday.  We got standing water out of the deal.  Another round of warm weather in the 80s is predicted for the weekend.

Image

Image

Image

Image

2 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · April 4, 2014

    Yesterday, Hubby and I went out to the “Property” to see how things were holding up after creating a driveway and a trench to divert rain water away from the area we plan to place the house. We have a creek running through our property, so it was good seeing water there. But, like you said, California is far from declaring that the drought is over.

    • Arlene Poma · April 4, 2014

      Marlene, as a flatlander, I am always looking for standing water because it has become habit with me. In 2000, I had to walk away from my home in Crescent City, California because the contractor at that time saw me and my now ex-husband coming. Since we were both from Sacramento and constant rain, we built our new home on what turned out to be swamp land. Our neighbors did the same, so all of us sued the contractor. To make this nightmare of a story short, both families got only $40,000 out of the lawsuit. At that time, we were paying mortgages on new houses that cost about $110,000. As you probably know, Crescent City gets as much rain as Portland, Oregon. I was home sick one day, and heard water running as I tried to sleep. I looked under the house (it was built post and pillar style—above ground), and there was almost three feet of water under it. All year round, it was damp under the whole house. I know because I crawled under a few times and checked it myself. I installed a sump pump, but even that move was worthless. It killed me to walk away from the house, but no doubt there was mold. A co-worker begged to rent it when I moved out and left the area, but I refused. I told him that I wasn’t going to allow it because I didn’t want him or his family getting sick. This house was supposed to be my retirement home. It was only two miles from the ocean, and I could hear the sea lions barking during the storms. Be careful where you build your home–especially when you’ve got water already running through the property. It turned out that my former home was built on springs that will never run dry because it rains so much in that area. Each time I see standing water, I look for swamp grass. There used to be a stream running through the neighborhood, but I believe that was drained when the neighborhood was put in. The contractor also did not compact the soil on any of those houses in the neighborhood. Swamp vegetation present tells you that water is available in the soil, and that’s the last thing you want when you build a house. I only discovered the swamp grass and what was left of the stream after the house was built, and I spent a year as one of the plaintiffs in the lawsuit. I can laugh about it now because the whole ordeal over. Now, I can say, “I’ve got a sinking house in Crescent City that you can buy!”

Leave a Reply

