One-Pan Moussaka

Image

As far as vegetables go, you can say eggplant is meaty as well as filling.  Here is a simple dish that is so easy to make in a skillet. When I finished making the dish in a cast iron skillet, I popped the skillet into the oven.  I make a mess whenever I cook and bake, so I am always looking for one-pan or one-pot recipes. 

One-Pan Moussaka

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef

1 medium eggplant, sliced lengthwise

1 tablespoon cornstarch

2/3 cup water

1 cup Parmesan cheese

olive oil

salt and pepper

Instructions

1.  In a large skillet with about two tablespoons of olive oil, lightly fry eggplant slices on both sides.  Place eggplant slices on a cookie sheet and bake in a 350-degree oven until eggplant softens.

Image

2.  Brown meat in the same skillet.

Image 

3.  In a bowl, thoroughly mix cornstarch and water.

 Image

4.  Move half the ground beef to one side of the skillet, and place eggplant in skillet.  Cover the eggplant with some ground beef.  Place remaining eggplant on the other side of the skillet.

 Image

5.  Cover all eggplant slices with ground beef.

  Image

6.  Top with remaining end pieces.  Pour cornstarch and water over meat and eggplant mixture.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.  Place skillet in 350-degree oven for 20-30 minutes.

Image

7.  Serve immediately.

Image

 

2 comments

  1. ChgoJohn · April 20, 2014

    Never thought of making moussaka this way, Arlene, but why not? The ingredients are all there and I’m sure the flavor is, too. All that’s missing is the kitchen mess — and that I can do without! Nice job.

    • Arlene Poma · April 20, 2014

      John, I am soooooo flattered! Thank you for the compliment. I’ve had this recipe for moussaka (a family favorite for years), but I tweaked it because I am very aware of the heavy cream it required. The original recipe came from the Sacramento Bee, but I completely changed it to make it healthier and less time-consuming. I like cooking with what I have. I do not follow recipes by the book! I am a master at making a mess, but it proves that I am happy and keeping busy. I’ll be 56 next month, and I still bristle at the term, “housewife.” I avoided the term all of my life, and I’m not going to change. I am married to Mister Jack. If you are married to a house, you know that your work is never, ever done!!! And you my never see daylight again!!!

Leave a Reply

