Celebrate Spring at Sacramento’s Historic Rose Garden

Image

Sacramento has many historic treasures dating back to the California Gold Rush, but in my very humble opinion, it’s the Historic Rose Garden at the Sacramento Historic City Cemetery that has this native girl’s heart.

These photographs were taken on Easter morning.  Mister Jack didn’t bring his fancy camera, so I handed my little pocket camera to him when I needed another set of eyes.  Don’t ever visit this piece of Heaven on Earth without a camera.  Every season, there is something to admire.

Image

The Historic Rose Garden is lovingly tended by volunteers.

Image

The little lambs mark the graves of children.

Easter in the Rose Garden 068

The oldest marker is made of wood.  Weathered away by time, you cannot identify who is buried there.

And if you’re in Sacramento, make this destination one of your top priorities.  This garden hosts countless visitors from the all over the globe, and is so rich with Gold Rush history.

The Roses

The Climbers

The Historic Rose Garden

Interested in a visit or need additional information about tours and events?

www.cemetery rose.org

info@oldcitycemetery.com

Easter in the Rose Garden 066

 

6 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · May 2, 2014

    Your little pocket camera is pretty dynamic. You did an excellent job. On my recent trip to South Carolina, my sister-in-law took us all to the Magnolia Plantation. It was the one thing on my list of things I wanted to do while I was there. I packed my camera, but I left the batteries at the hotel. Now, after gathering my composure, I remembered that my “not so smart” phone had a camera. I got a few pictures from my phone, but honestly, it wasn’t even worth the effort. That little phone camera just couldn’t capture the magnificence of the grounds. All I could do was take in the beauty as I saw it and hoped the experience would last a little longer. I really enjoy botanical gardens. Thank you so much for sharing the roses at the Sacramento Historic Rose Garden.

    • Arlene Poma · May 2, 2014

      Thank you, Marlene. Yeah, I’m a cemetery kind of girl. When we first met, Mister Jack introduced me to the Gold Rush cemeteries and ghost towns in the Tahoe National Forest. Not to far from Auburn and Foresthill. I volunteer at the Sacramento Historic Rose Garden when I can. Mister Jack will come with me to some of the events, too. I would love to visit any of the plantations. We’ve visited some around Nashville and Franklin, Tennessee. Including Andrew Jackson’s plantation. So much history! And the homes and the grounds are stunning! Sorry to hear about your camera batteries. So many things can go wrong with cameras. I remember covering this convention, and I could not find the cord that connected my “potato masher” flash to my SLR. I had to do without it, and I knew that any of the photos I took could not be used for print. I showed up for work the next day with my tail between my legs. I walked into the office, and here was my boss–waving my missing cord at me. And, of course, there were other disasters like that. I can’t even take photographs with my smartphone because I’m always doing something wrong. Let’s just say that I shoot blanks. Anyway, I prefer to take my camera with me and leave the phone at home! Although people snap photos all the time with their phones, I don’t even bother because a camera is meant for photographs. The nicest thing about travel experiences? No one can take them away from you because the experience is all yours. It’s personal. When the camera fails or is stolen, the memories are still in your mind and in your heart.

  2. marlenebertrand · May 2, 2014

    You’re right, Arlene. I’m not miserable about not having good photos, I’m miserable because the ones I got are, I don’t know… less than attractive. It would have been better not to have taken photos at all. That way, the experience may have been fuller. Live and learn.

    • Arlene Poma · May 2, 2014

      Marlene, someone in Brazil (2004) stole my throwaway camera! I was so angry about that cheap camera getting stolen because I had it buried deep into my front jacket pocket. I didn’t replace it. Instead, I bought about a dozen pair of leather shoes that have lasted me to this day. When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping!

  3. bren@BGgarden · May 12, 2014

    This is a beautiful share … I just picked up a few new climbing roses for my garden here in Ohio. You have inspired me to plant them in a different way then I had intended. I’m going to try using that arch / wire / trellis technique featured in this garden.

    Great to connect with you!

    • Arlene Poma · May 14, 2014

      Thank you so much, bren! I am soooooo flattered! You made my week. Make sure that the arch/wire/trellis is strong enough to support those roses. Also, make sure to keep pruning. Climbers and ramblers take off and take over anything in the way. I made the mistake of not pruning one of my climbers, and it took out our picket fence because it was that heavy. Connect with me anytime. I’d love to see how your climbing roses look!

Leave a Reply

