Lake Tahoe Morning

Image

Some people dread their birthdays, but I don’t.  I was born on May 25, 1958.  I’m letting you know because I’m not one of those people who does not expect you to remember my birthday.  I’m going to remind you because I’m not one to sit around until you remember.  I like getting phone calls, birthday cards and all kinds of gifts, but don’t expect me to sit in a restaurant and have people sing to me.  Ugh.  Don’t you just hate that?

I am one of those people who makes things happen.   Also, I don’t just celebrate my birth day.  Instead, I milk the whole month and do anything I want.  I pamper myself.  Anything goes.  Including an overnight trip to Tahoe to escape Sacramento’s valley heat and our statewide drought.

Image

I travel light. 

As usual, I got so excited about this brief getaway.  I forgot to take a jacket, so whenever I went outside, I wrapped myself in a blanket.  Since Tahoe is a tourist destination, no one asked why I was walking around wearing a blanket over my tank top and shorts.  Let’s just say that I was miserable with allergies.  I wasn’t expecting wind.

Image

Mr. Rabbit stopped to stare at me and my camera while the wind whipped through the trees.  A box of Kleenex became my best friend.

Image

Image

Image

Whenever there’s valley heat in Sacramento, most of us head for Lake Tahoe or San Francisco in less than two hours.

Image

A little snow–even in May.  But not enough for the skiers.

Image

Image

Image

I’ll find all kinds of excuses to return.

6 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · May 22, 2014

    I was looking for a little vacation and you sent me to Lake Tahoe. How refreshing! I really enjoyed the photos. Mr. Bunny is so cute. How are your allergies? Did you get back to normal when you returned home? I determined that I must be allergic to pine trees because there are so many of them in Lake Tahoe and every time I go there, my allergies kick up and our friend, the tissue box, follows me around while I’m there, too. I’m glad you had a good time. I look forward to my next virtual trip with you.

    • Arlene Poma · May 27, 2014

      Marlene, I was put on some nose spray instead of allergy medication. Unfortunately, it takes a week to get used to, so I was so miserable when the wind kept whipping through Lake Tahoe. I am a childhood asthmatic because my father was a pipe smoker (since the age of 8). The doctors told my parents that it would be better if we lived in the woods or on the coastline. Yeah, right! I was miserable in Crescent City. Probably because of the redwoods. Mostly the mosquitoes. I was allergic to the stuff they drew from the swamps, and their bites put huge, hard welts on my skin. I guess everyone is different. You don’t know until you live in an area for quite some time. I’ve outgrown the asthma, but the wind is my worst enemy when it comes to spring allergies. I was not expecting wind in Lake Tahoe. Duh . . .

  2. diana segal · May 24, 2014

    What beautiful pictures, you take awesome photos, have a great time celebrating your birthday. Wishing you a happy birthday. Love you

    • Arlene Poma · May 27, 2014

      Love you, too, Diana. Thank you! I’m decided to stretch my birthDAY into a month’s celebration. I am so grateful to be alive.

  3. diana segal · May 24, 2014

    Hi Arlene, enjoyed viewing all your pictures, so breathtaking, have a great time celebrating your birthday, wishing you a happy birthday. Love you

    • Arlene Poma · May 27, 2014

      Diana, thank you so much for the compliment! Hope to have lunch with you once our schedules mesh. Miss you, Girl!

Leave a Reply

