Summer Morning and the California Drought

Image

In California, summer is now in full force.  Yesterday, a thunderstorm was promised for the Sacramento area.  Although Mister Jack told me there was a little rain at his work, there was no rain to look forward to at our home.  Not even enough rain to rate a trip to the car wash.

Triple digits expected next week.

Image

Image

Image

This week, I’ve been leaving our home around 6 a.m. to walk Elway.  I’ve noticed that many people have that same idea to beat the mid-morning heat.  The smart ones are holding water bottles or gripping plastic cups filled with a beverage or ice water.  At the Open Space, most people walk, push strollers or run.  We want to get our exercise in so that we can go home and hide in our air-conditioned houses.

Image

Image

Image

Old weeds, new weeds.  Chopped wood and cleared brush.  When there isn’t enough rain in California, there’s the threat of fire.

Image

The drought situation in California is beyond hope, good wishes and prayers.  All I can do is save water and electricity.  And say a prayer each time I hear sirens in the distance.

Image

Image

7 comments

  1. marlenebertrand · June 28, 2014

    That trail looks so inviting. I wish I could walk, but I have such severe bunions. In fact, my foot doctor made my feet a case study. Later this year I will be going into UC Davis for consultation to have surgery. I wish they could do both feet at a time, but I know that’s wishful thinking. I just want to get it over with. I know it’s not good to have both feet out of commission. If I were skinnier I might beg to have them both operated on and then beg hubby to carry me to the ladies room every day. Well, one day I’ll have a chance to walk the kind of trails you’ve shown. I like those flowers. Do you know what they are called? They’re such a pretty yellow.

    • Arlene Poma · June 28, 2014

      Marlene, you’ll be in very good care at UCD. I was blessed to have them during my kidney transplant journey. They saved my life. I had foot surgery (both feet) back in high school, and my mom joined me at the same time. The podiatrist did our surgeries on opposite feet. That way, one of us was always able to drive ourselves to surgery or appointments. It was hilarious! We were wearing those ugly yellow boots throughout recovery. I was glad to get rid of those. I have flat feet, so I will always have callouses somewhere. Anyway, once you have surgery, you’ll be walking like a champ. I used to run, but I have this short, squat Filipino body and childhood asthma that can flare up when the right moment hits. I started a walking program long before my kidney transplant surgery. It’s the best habit. Next, I’m getting a bicycle for the trails. Looking forward to that. As for the flowers? They are anise. Smells like licorice. I grew up in the Sacramento River Delta, and anise can be found growing along the levees and in meadows. Right up there with wild mustard.

  2. marlenebertrand · June 28, 2014

    I’m so glad it’s UCD. The staff seems so friendly. I can hear it in their voices when they call. My podiatrist is also a really cool person. He physically drove to UCD to hand deliver my x-rays to UCD to make sure they had them on file. I’m a case study now. That’s OK. My podiatrist assured me, just the same as you, that I was going to receive the best care and I had nothing to worry about.

    I use to dance – ballet. At first the podiatrist was confused when he saw how the bones in my feet had reconstructed and how my hip was able to be turned out so far. Then my husband, seeing his confusion, explained that I use to dance ballet. It was then that his confusion ended. You see, it never dawned on him that a little black lady would have danced in such a refined art. I’m just speculating what was going on in his mind. I couldn’t possibly know for sure. All I know is that his reaction to the structure of the bones in my feet completely changed. I imagine I am going to be the example of what the effects of decades of dancing will do to a body.

    I have a treadmill and can’t use it right now. I’ve been carting that thing around from house to house. I can no longer use it without being in extreme pain, but as soon as I have recovered from surgery I will be using it every day, like I did before my feet went bad. Or better, I will go hiking down beautiful trails such as the one you’ve shown.

    Well, I have a leisurely day scheduled today. I’m just going to take in the sun and relax. I hope your day is a wonderful one.

  3. lisanewlin · July 6, 2014

    If this is what I had to look at in my neighborhood, I would go on a lot more walks! I’m jealous! I also hope you don’t get those thunderstorms…although I love them!

    • Arlene Poma · July 6, 2014

      Help me, Lisa!!! I’m melting when it comes to this damn California drought. This coming week, we are expecting another heat wave. I now take Elway to the Open Space at 6 a.m. every morning. We walk for about 2 miles. Sometimes, I’ll chit chat with the regulars who walk their dogs or have them swim in what is supposed to be the salmon habitat running through the property. Unfortunately, it’s only going to be a stagnant mud puddle if this drought keeps up. In a year of “normal” rainfall, the stream is filled with running water. If we don’t return by at least 7:30 a.m., I’m already breaking into a sweat. I grew up with valley heat, but it’s the severe lack of water that makes me crazy. I am letting everything die. And if there are any survivors, I’ll let them live as I add hardscape to front yard. There is no guarantee that this drought will end this year, so my major concern is not wasting water. Or electricity. I’m sucking it up and making the sacrifices because I would rather support a farmer instead of what I can plant at home. I was born in Sacramento, but was raised on a pear orchard along the Sacramento River Delta. As a farm girl, I know the value of agriculture in California. I feel for the California farmers and their families. I will back their play by purchasing my fruits and vegetables locally! Believe me. I love rain and storms, but it ain’t happening here right now. The fire season has only begun.

      • lisanewlin · July 6, 2014

        It’s so horrible you guys are going through that. What adds insult to injury is here in St. Louis the river is really high and some areas are flooding.

        It just doesn’t seem fair, but good for you for supporting local farmers!

  4. Arlene Poma · July 7, 2014

    Each day, I’ve been prayin’ and beggin’ for water Unfortunately, California is last on the rain and snow list. I know about the horrible weather elsewhere in the United States. All I need to do is check in with family and friends on Facebook, and I’m asking everyone to send the rain and snow to California. It’s so unreal. Now, my major focus is taking a good, hard look at what me and Mister Jack can do to make our home more efficient when it comes to saving water. We fixed leaky faucets and turned to devices that save water. We only water our plants, shrubs and trees once a week. Or not at all. The lawn is dead because it would be a waste of water to install new sod and soak it with water until the roots set. Doesn’t matter because I hate lawns because they use plenty of water and fertilizer. We also plan to get rid of a couple of trees that do nothing for our landscaping. For now, I am researching drought tolerant plants and shrubs. Even when the drought is over, it still gives the water district an excuse to raise its rates. In fact, I’m banking on that. Anyway, as native Californians, we do what we gotta do because we will live in California until we kick. It’s a pride thing.

Leave a Reply

